Posted by: Brendan | January 19, 2011

Oat & Molasses Bars

I’ve been adding to my kitchen repertoire with these delicious bars. They’re easy to make, and packed with healthy ingredients. I decided to start experimenting after years of being underwhelmed with packaged bars.

From my quick study, it seems most energy bars can broken down into three components: bulk, sweetener, protein. …and maybe a fourth; tasty bits.

Bulk: This can come in the form of flour (wheat, oat, etc). I choose oats, mainly because they’re gentle on my stomach and I love oatmeal before morning rides. Easy.
Also, I wanted to give a gluten-free bar a whirl. I won’t be giving up our sourdough pizza hobby just because the cool kids are going gluten free, but I figured if I were to notice a “difference” in a gluten free diet, it’ll most likely be when I’m riding a bike for hours on end, burning calories like a steam engine digests coal.

Sweetener: you could use honey, agave nectar, or in my case molasses. Unsulfured. I like it for its iron, crazy good flavor, and long, smooth burn. (no sugar spikes here)

Protein: I use whey protein, some nuts, and almond meal in my recipes. Remember from Chemistry class: sugar+protein= glue. You’ll need something in there to make everything stick together.

Tasty bits: Just like it sounds. cranberries, or maybe ginger+almonds, etc.


Ingredients list:

2 cups oats
3-4 oz molasses
2-3 T oil (olive or vegetable)
1 cup dried cranberries, chopped
1/3 cup almond meal
2 servings whey protein powder
1-2 dollops peanut butter
3 good pinches salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda

Directions:

Toast the oats in the oven for a while, maybe 10 minutes. This is a good way to preheat the oven (350 degrees) and you might as well use the baking pan for this step.

Meanwhile, combine the molasses and oil in a mixing bowl. Stir until smooth

Add oats, tasty bits, stir

In a separate bowl, mix remaining dry ingredients

Add dry ingredients, stir everything up.

Transfer the mix to greased baking pan

Bake at 350 degrees for 10-20 minutes. When it smells good, it is good.

Remove, let it cool… break into pieces. Pack in ziplock baggies and ride.

Responses

  1. Brendan,
    Try to get your hands on “Life After Bread” by Dr. Eydi Bauer. Believe me, there is nothing cool about GF living, though it certainly makes the tall and skinny, skinnier (almost wrote taller!). One notion I ascertained from your post that is a bit misleading is that someone truly effected by gluten intolerance can chose a time, place, or menu item to add or subtract gluten, and gain noticeable benefit. Every person and diet varies, of course, but for instance with me , I had to go 100% GF for many months to see the the benefits, and now I’m over three years; yup, no beers…no sourdough…no bagels, and that is decidedly not cool, but keeps me upright! Good luck with the culinary experiments, and I will definitely be giving the GF bars a whirl! On e more ting…have you considered producing/selling Siren riding jerseys??? I would love to sport the logo on a jersey! Gracias, -H

  2. Hey Hamilton,
    I hadn’t thought through the timeline as to how long it would take to “feel” the difference between GF and non GF meals. That said, I do tend to eat “better” on the bike than I might otherwise do when I’m working, snacking, etc. For me, it’s a matter of volume. When I’m on my bike, consuming thousands of calories on a long ride, I figure it’s better to chow down on the good stuff.

    As for Siren jerseys… I think you’re the 105th person to ask me about it in the past week. We had some proofs made up by Louis Garneau that I think need some tinkering, then we’ll bring them to life. The time is nigh.

  3. Hi
    I am thinking about taking pro hormones, do you think this is good idea for advanced bodybuilder like
    me? People are satisfied with the results after prohormones cycles, just google for
    – 100% pure muscles without side effects – worth a try?


Leave a Reply

Categories

