Posted by: Brendan | August 4, 2009

Idyllwild, Part II

Sometimes I catch myself thinking: “This is like one of those places people go to for vacation!”

The friends are great, the rides are plentiful… and we have more trails than we know what to do with. The livin’ is a little slower, which is a good thing.

Lately, I’ve been doing some exploring with my peeps- we’re planning a Self-Supported Enduro in the area. For now, we can share this much: it’ll be long, with a lot of climbing, and very rewarding, with post-ride activities. More to come on that, I promise. 🙂

Here’s some of what we’ve come up with:

tentblackmtn.jpg

I still can’t keep up with Mary very well. She’s been doing some exploring of her own, too.

9butterfly

blackmtnview

davespring.jpg

Dave tested this natural spring & gives the thumbs-up. (he does this stuff for a living) The enduro will likely pass by this spot.

springgarner.jpg

Nick has been helpful with his knowledge of the eastern end of the valley… and his willingness to hike-a-bike for 5 hours.

davenick

Some Garner Valley doubletrack. They filmed Bonanza here.

fobesdouble.jpg

View of Lake Hemet from the climb up to Rouse Ridge

lakehemet.jpg

Doug. This guy is way faster than you.

dougcorral.jpg

Responses

  1. Don’t rub it in… we know Doug’s fast.

  2. sounds like fun…keep me in the loop!

  3. I can’t wait to ride with you guys. We miss you!

  4. Looks like a blast! I wish I lived closer.


Leave a Reply

Categories

