Posted by: Brendan | December 24, 2007

Christmas Eve, 20/20

We’ve had a good few days here on the mountain. I finally got my ride in, with Mary. We went to Joshua Tree & rode some really beautiful stuff, check out her blog for the lowdown & good pics. This much-needed ride cleared my head a bit.

The pace of life slows a bit during the holidays, thankfully. It has given me time to look back and look ahead.

The “master plan” for ’08 is starting to come together. Races & expos for the spring are right around the corner. I’ll race/expo with Todd (2 person) at the 12 hours of Temecula in January. Then, 24 hours in the Old Pueblo will be the first “big” show for us, hopefully with some new display goodies & few tricks up our sleeve. It’s hard to believe we had our debut at 24HOP only a year ago… We’ve been very fortunate and owe a debt of gratitude to the many people who helped us out.

Our plans for the year ahead are daunting. Thinking back to an interview we had with Guitar Ted at Sea Otter last year, I told him we were “prepared to crash and burn.” I was working for Intense at the time, juggling our new venture & working for Jeff. Back then, “crash & burn” might have been an easier pill to swallow than it is today. Now there’s more riding on it, and we’ve made a heavy personal & financial investment. Scary stuff.

Time and again, we’ve pulled the trigger at decision time. I’m sure this is how we got up & running so fast… but old business wisdom echoes in my head: “growing too fast can kill a business just as well as growing too slowly.” I can’t speak for Mary, but I’d guess she’s going through a similar experience with her racing. She’s come a long way, too.

For now, I think we’ll keep pulling the trigger, but hopefully we can settle into a groove soon. Too much trigger pulling ties my stomach into knots. On the other hand, we’re in no hurry to “get there,” either. After all, it’s about the journey, not the destination right?

Here’s to time with family & friends, trigger pulling, and adventure for all in 2008!

Sunset at ‘07 Pueblo– sunset ’07 Pueblo

Responses

  1. Merry Christmas guys! Here’s to Trigger Pulling in 08! Look forward to Project Rwanda ride with you on Saturday! Enjoy your family this holiday season!

  2. Good luck with the venture you two! It takes a lot of chutzpah to get as far as you have and that is very impressive. I think, if you are fortunate enough, you can get to a point in life where you just realize that heading into the unknown is actually something to enjoy rather than avoid. It’s amazing that you two got there so soon!

  3. Matt, sounds like you’ve been doing some trigger pulling yourself! You’re right, though, it’s the spice of life.

    Lucas, I’m looking forward to that ride. Picking up the Song from powdercoat tomorrow (pearl white) and getting her built up. Once I’m on suspension it’ll be a while before going back to rigid, I suspect.

  4. Best of luck in 2008 with successful “trigger pulling.” I know the two of you will do well, and with each other, you’ll enjoy the journey together. You are both very inspirational, and I’m glad we’ve gotten the opportunity to meet you.

    Good luck at 24HITOP. Big Wheel Racing will have a huge showing there, so look for the jerseys. 🙂

  5. You guys are living the dream. Look what you have to show for the chances you have already taken. I say, stick your necks out there. I am sitting in an office drawing lines on computers……

  6. Hey Jruss, good to see you ’round these parts. Hopefully we’ll see you in the desert sometime soon?

  7. Ha! I remember you saying that quote and thinking, “this guy is puttin’ it all on the line!” and thinking that was so cool to see.

    Anyway, take care and I hope the ride in ’08 is a smooth and enjoyable one for you and Mary! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

